Week of February 7, 2016 – Sawyer Free Library

Matz Gallery Artist for February: David Bover

DavidBover

Artist’s Statement :Fishing and the sea have defined Gloucester for centuries.  The sights and smells of the water and boats are everywhere.  I love roaming the docks in Gloucester to see what’s happening and perhaps capture a compelling image. These photographs attempt to convey some of the unique marine flavor of Gloucester – especially the rugged beauty of the city’s pride, its fishing boats.  And a few shots of the wide horizon’s grander view as well.  My focus is on light, color and pleasing patterns, on large or small scale. I hope you enjoy viewing these pictures as much as I’ve enjoyed making them.  Walk around Gloucester and check out the waterfront in person!    Biography: This show combines my lifelong passion for boats and the sea with the art of photography.  I first visited Gloucester during college, while in Boston for a work term at a fishing boat design firm.  Originally trained as a naval architect, I’ve since moved on to management consulting but never lost my love of boats.  A Lexington resident, I also own a condo in Gloucester and enjoy spending time on Cape Ann.  I’m a member of the First Parish Fine Arts Photography Club in Concord and have exhibited at the State House in Boston and at venues in Lexington and Concord.  Technicalities: My camera is a handheld Nikon D80 with a 28-70mm f2.8 lens.  I used an Epson 4000 printer with Enhanced Matte and Premium Glossy paper.  Photos are mounted with acid free mats and backing behind anti-reflective UV glass.

Tax Help at SFL:

tax help

One thought on “Week of February 7, 2016 – Sawyer Free Library

Leave a Reply

